2 September Open Studio

Kurma. Oil on wood. 55 x 32cm framed
2nd September Open Studio!
Happy September! Wow another month done and dusted and autumn is in the air! We've had a lovely summer and in the immortal words of Joni Mitchell,  'I'm sad to see her go'.

Nick and I have camped in a chilly but beautiful Devon field and just had a blisteringly hot bank holiday weekend at 
Towersey music festival. We've been out drawing and dancing the night away, I've drunk my body weight in wine and barely started all those books I was definitely  going to read this summer!

We have of course also been in the studio and with a long list of exhibitions to prepare for, its just as well too! First up: 
October 2-19 I shall be showing atFirst View Gallery with paintings by Kate Cochrane , sculpture and prints by Olivia Clifton-Bligh and pots and prints by Tim Rose for our exhibition'QuARTet' The private view is on Thursday October 5th at 6-8pm and I would love it if you could attend! The wine will be flowing!

November 11 - December 3 Nick and I are showing in the Round Tower of Black Swan Arts, Frome!

I'll give more information about these and further shows and their private views in next month's newsletter!

Once again we open the studio on September 2 from 10-5. It would be great if you could visit us. 
Suijin. Oil on wood. 72 x 39cm framed

I'm still enjoying using 24 carat gold leaf in certain paintings. My koi fish pond above is one such piece to which I have added gold. I'm also pleased I was able to preserve the lichen that had grown on the wood which I felt looked like pond weed! And Peirus, below, is another that has been strategically gilded.   
Peirus. Oil on wood. 54 x 43 cm framed
 
Reimea by Nick Andrew 138 x 59 cm
Nick is now taking bookings for his new teaching studio! www.nickandrew.co.uk/teaching/ It really looks fantastic and so cosy complete with wood burner. He has a wonderful range of courses on offer.

Above is one of his dreamlike paintings, if you need a little inspiration...